Generator Capacity

I have a relatively simple problem but I need a quick answer, please

We are running two 320 ekW 400 kVA 60 Hz 1800 rpm 480 Volt sets for 12 hours a day,  each set runs on alternate days. The generators are running at 50% load (200kVA). We have been told by a generator expert that serious engine damage can occur running the generators at this load. I'm not an expert but I find this claim strange. One because If I use the same analogy for a diesel vehicle that means if I drive at 50 kms/hr rather than 100 kms/hr the engine will wear out faster and two why would CAT give no warnings of this in their specification sheets and declare the fuel consumption at 50% capacity on the spec sheets?.

Regards

Super Contributor

Re: Generator Capacity

Extended run times at lower loads can cause a number of issues, such as poor combustion, "slobber" and deposits forming on cylinders and turbo hot sections.  Newer engines depend on cylinder pressures generated by higher loads to properly seal the combustion chamber for best combustion. Also newer engines are more highly turbocharged and operate at settings designed not for optimum combustion but to have best balance between performance and emissions. This narrows the operating range and long term operation at lower loads, typically below 45%, can reduce engine service life.

While I don't find your stated loads levels particularly alarming, you will likely find that there could be increased combustion chamber deposits, coking on the turbo hot wheel, and possbily deposits forming in your exhaust system.  Ideally if you could operate the engine at a higher load for a few hours each week, you could probably mitigate most of those problems.

In practise, you just meed to be aware of the symptoms and take appropriate action before small problems turn into bigger ones.

Has the visible exhaust smoke for your "normal" load levels increased?

How is you lube oil life? Do you use sampling?